top of page

One woman's journey to becoming a triathlete

5 surprises from my first triathlon


I did it! I finished my first triathlon! The Olympic distance Salford triathlon was the massive challenge I set myself this year. But (apart from finishing), I surprised myself in so many ways. Yes it was still tough and painful, but it felt so rewarding to pace through those disciplines. Here are a few reasons why.

I wasn't nervous

Waiting on the jetty about to jump into the water. I was calm before the race, even though I didn't leave myself the extra time to double check my transition setup, I ended up rushing to the start whilst squeezing into my wet-suit (not an easy thing) but, by the time I was at the water's edge about to get in the water, other people looked more nervous than me.

The swim was fun

Yep. An open water 1 mile swim was fun. Starting in the water too, with no walls to kick off. I guess the experience of literally being thrown in the deep end forces you to get on with it. I remember, months ago, feeling terrified at the prospect of it, but I really surprised myself and managed a quicker time than I first thought I'd get; 35 mins in open water.

I hated cycling

There were a few factors that were out of my control; the wind, the long and slow inclines on the course and other cyclists. It didn't bother me that every cyclist out there seemed to be overtaking me (seriously!) and they were actually encouraging and chatty. Nonetheless, the saddle, that burning feeling in my thighs and that constant dread about getting a puncture- it just didn't sit well with me.

At least with swimming and running, it's (mostly) just down to my body and determination to power on through. I cannot get across how happy I was to get off that bike after 40km.

Some people can't count

One thing you have to do during Salford Triathlon is to keep track of your own laps, i.e: count the number of laps you've completed by yourself. I couldn't believe it when someone actually asked me during the cycle leg "how do we know when we've done enough laps?" Oh my god. The website, the route map and the organisers during the pre-race briefing all told us this. But still, some obviously missed that. I kept track of the laps I'd done so vehemently that I wouldn't fall foul of racing too far or too little. I had a constant self-check of not only the laps I'd done, but everything from how were my knees feeling? Did I need a drink? Where was the next corner? Only 2 more laps to go... Will power for the win indeed.

The crowds

It helps so much to have friends and family cheering you on during a race and I love that strangers who have never met me, will cheer you on regardless of whether this is your first triathlon or your 20th. They still cheered me on, saying well done and that it was nearly over. One girl held signs which cracked a smile out of me like "you're my #fitspo"and "you PAID to do this, you nutter".

The marshals were both hilarious and supportive too, with one guy dancing and high-fiving the athletes.

One thing that struck me, was my realisation that I took on the Olympic distance instead of the sprint (half) distance. Don't get me wrong, a triathlon of any distance is an amazing achievement. Yet, I would have felt like I'd not pushed myself if I hadn't taken on this challenge.

I push myself because I want and expect more of myself. It felt amazing to succeed and though it wasn't an easy journey, I was so pleased to have accomplished my goal. As cheesy as it sounds, I feel like I can take anything on now.

What now? You'll have to wait and see what's in store next for this triathlete.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
bottom of page